Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme 2024/2025

Sponsored Links

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships, funded by the UK Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), enable outstanding and motivated individuals to learn the knowledge and skills essential for sustainable development and are aimed towards those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

The Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC) administers the UK government scholarship program guided by international development goals. It operates within the framework of the Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Plan (CSFP) and is a vivid example of the United Kingdom’s long-standing commitment to the Commonwealth.

The CSC’s work combines sustainable development with the UK’s national interest. It provides opportunities for international partnerships and collaboration by attracting individuals with exceptional talent and observable potential from all backgrounds and assisting them in becoming leaders and innovators upon their return to their home countries.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Eligibility

  • Be a citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person.
  • Be permanently resident in an eligible Commonwealth country.
  • Be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September 2024.
  • By September 2024, hold a first degree of at least upper second-class (2:1) honors standard, or a lower second-class degree (2:2) and a relevant postgraduate qualification (usually a Master’s degree).
  • Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a high-income country.
  • Be unable to afford to study in a UK university without this Scholarship.
  • Have provided all supporting documentation in the required format.

Eligible Countries

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Benefits

Each scholarship provides:

  • Approved airfare from the Scholar’s home country to the UK and return at the end of their Scholarship (the CSC will not reimburse the cost of fares for dependants, nor the cost of journeys made before the award is confirmed) – funded by the CSC
  • Approved tuition fees: full fees are covered by an agreement between the CSC and the UK university, and Scholars are not liable to pay for any part of the tuition fee
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,236 per month, or £1,516 per month for those at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at current levels) – paid and funded by the university
  • Warm clothing allowance, where applicable – paid and funded by the university
  • Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a thesis or dissertation, where applicable – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Study travel grant towards the cost of study-related travel within the UK or overseas – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • Contribution towards the cost of mandatory tuberculosis (TB) test, where required for a visa application (receipts must be supplied) – claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC
  • If Scholars have children and are widowed, divorced, or a single parents, a child allowance of £529 per month for the first child, and £131 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16, if Scholars are accompanied by their children and they are living with them at the same address in the UK (rates quoted at current levels)
  • If Scholars share that they have a disability, a full assessment of their needs and eligibility for additional financial support will be offered by the CSC.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Selection Criteria

Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the plan of study
  • Potential impact on the development of the candidate’s home country

How to Apply for Commonwealth Shared Scholarship

Candidates must apply and secure admission to study an approved Master’s course at a participating UK university in addition to applying for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship via the CSC’s online application system.

The closing date for applications is December 13, 2022, at 16:00 GMT.



What is the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme 2024/2025?

The Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme 2024/2025 is a scholarship scheme funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID) in partnership with UK universities. It offers fully-funded scholarships for students from eligible developing Commonwealth countries to pursue Master’s study in the UK.

Who is eligible to apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme 2024/2025?

Eligibility criteria include citizenship in a developing Commonwealth country, not being able to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship, and having an offer for a taught Master’s program at a participating UK university. Additionally, candidates must meet the academic requirements of their chosen course.

What expenses does the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme 2024/2025 cover?

The scholarship covers tuition fees, a monthly stipend, airfare to the UK and return home at the end of the award, and an arrival allowance. It also includes the cost of an initial visa application, and a thesis grant (if applicable). However, it doesn’t cover the costs of family members accompanying the scholar or additional study trips or visits.

How can I apply for the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship Programme 2024/2025?

To apply, candidates must first secure admission to a participating UK university for one of the eligible Master’s courses. Once admitted, they can apply for the scholarship through the university’s online application system or through the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission’s online application system. The application process typically involves submitting academic transcripts, references, and a personal statement explaining why they should be awarded the scholarship.

Sponsored Links

Leave a Reply

Back to top button